Education, blogging and working in secret

I am seeing patterns at the moment, things are connecting for me and I don’t know if it is real or if it is just me seeing things.

A while ago I spoke at a staff meeting about reflective practice, I see this space as one where I can be reflective about what it is that I do and perhaps in working through what it is that I am teaching and how I am teaching I can see what is happening. Just after the presentation, I was approached by a colleague who made the comment that she found blogging to be a form of narcissism and didn’t think that is was appropriate for what it was that I was trying to achieve; in public was not the place for this. We should be private.

Fast-forward a couple of weeks and I was asked when the trolley of computers would be available to go into the classroom, the explanation given was that the teacher didn’t want to be in the lab – as it was “too public”.

Both of these things, expressions of wanting to hide away what it is that we do, the good, the bad, and the ugly, have really bothered me. I am over being told to hide what is happening in my classrooms, I work with some pretty amazing people (both students and teachers) and I want to be able to talk about it.

3 thoughts on “Education, blogging and working in secret

  1. Yes, absolutely. The second example I’ve recognised as changing where I am. We used to be in ‘sealed’ rooms – close the door and no one could see into the class. Now we have glass along the walls and as part of the doorway surrounds. Parents are often on tours and staff are being encouraged to ‘visit’ one another – rather than teach in that vacuum – in order to see different ways of approaching things.
    It has been liberating and inspiring and initial hesitation from some, fearful of being found wanting or being criticised, has been replaced with discourse and reflection over coffees later on…. great stuff.
    Great post!

    • I was struck by that comment, mostly because it actually seemed out of place. I have taken to teaching with the door open, which given that my classroom is next to the student services area means that there are people passing all the time and it has changed what happens with the students – not just the staff. One colleague stuck her head in the door to compliment a student on something they had said, which did wonderful things for his confidence.

Leave a Reply

