1:1 and seeing what happens

I have been thinking about what it would be like to be back in a school which has a 1:1 program again. A few years ago I had the opportunity to work in that environment, and really, that is where I finally got to be the type of teacher I wanted to be. It was a hard place to work for other reasons, but being able to think of work as play for the first time, was really eye-opening for me.

I am typing this from a Chromebook – made by Samsung – I think that there is a general feeling that if I can make this work for me in the classroom, the way that I use computers, then this should be a good option for the kiddies (not sure if the way that I will use it will be the same as the kids, but we shall see… it will get a workout).

First lesson – Chrome. I remain the only one in the house who hasn’t installed Chrome onto my computer. I may after this, as yet I am unsure and will wait to see how I go getting things to work on the network tomorrow. I have made the deliberate decision not to drop the thing off with the IT boys in the morning and get them to connect it. I need to be able to do this myself… lets face it I am the head of ICT, so I should be able to connect it – but there are no guarantees that I will.

Second lesson – It isn’t a Mac. I run Mac at home, having lost the battle at work. But I have my Mac Air for work (PED). I love it. It does everything I want it to, so it will be interesting to see if this can convert me. Well at least convince me that it will work for what I want it to.

And what is that… I have no idea right now. Well I have half a clue, but we shall see. More to come.

Leave a Reply

